The Centre Board has responsibility for the overall strategic direction of the Centre and oversees its operations. It has oversight of the Centre’s strategy, governance, and compliance.


Mr Graeme Rowley – Independent Chairman

Graeme RowleyGraeme Rowley brings a wealth of operational talent to Board deliberations and strategy development. Until recently, Mr Rowley held the position of Executive Director Operations at Fortescue Metals Group (FMG), a company he helped establish with Andrew Forrest, and with which he remains a non-executive member of the FMG Board. Prior to joining FMG in 2003, Mr Rowley worked in a number of senior executive roles for Rio Tinto Ltd, following a distinguished career in the Royal Australian Air Force spanning some 20 years.


Professor David Morrison – Administering Organisation Board Member
Deputy Vice Chancellor Research, Murdoch University

David Morrison was a Senior Lecturer at the University of Western Australia from 1993 and to take up the role of Deputy Vice Chancellor Research at Murdoch University in 2012. He was Head of School of Psychology in the Faculty of Life and Physical Science from 2006-2012 and was the longest serving Head for 30 years. Previously he was the Director of the Industrial and Organisational Psychology program for 13 years.

Professor Morrison is a registered Psychologist with Organisational Psychology as an endorsed specialty, Chartered Member of the Australian Human Resources Institute, member of the Academy of Management (US) and Associate Fellow of the British Psychological Society.


Dr Anita Hill - Participating Organisation Board Member
Chief, CSIRO Process Science and Engineering

Dr Anita Hill is Chief of the Division of Process Science and Engineering and an Office of the Chief Executive Science Leader with CSIRO. She is a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences, past member of the Board of the Membrane Society of Australasia, and current member of the Boards of the Institute for Frontier Materials (Deakin University), The Wark (University of South Australia), and Journal of Polymer Science.

Dr Hill began her career at Monash University as a lecturer before consulting for Materials Engineering and Technical Support Services and joining CSIRO in 1996. She completed the Australian Graduate School of Management Executive Management Program in 1999 and has been a member of the Australian Research Council College of Experts from 2009-2011. Dr Hill was the recipient of CSIRO Medals for Research Achievement in 2002 and 2004, and has over 150 ISI journal papers cited more than 2500 times and an h-index of 26. Dr Hill has led research for Australian mining companies and the Australian Coal Association on screening operations in plants in Western Australia, New South Wales and Queensland, resulting in improved products and processes.


Professor Lee Astheimer – Participating Organisation Board Member
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), Deakin University

Lee AstheimerProfessor Lee Astheimer has been Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) of Deakin University since 2009, with overall responsibility for research, research training and commercialisation.

Professor Astheimer received her BSc Hons. from Lakehead University, Ontario Canada and her PhD in Ecology from University California, Davis, USA (1984). She was awarded a National Institutes of Health-NIMH Postdoctoral Award (1988–91) in comparative endocrinology and behaviour at the University of Washington, Seattle. Her research has focussed on comparative endocrinology and behaviour related to nutrition, reproduction and stress in vertebrates including humans. Prior to joining Deakin Professor Astheimer was appointed Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) and served as Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) 2007–8. She has also held academic positions at Rutgers University and the University of Tasmania.


Mr Keith Cadee – Independent Board Member and Deputy Chairman
General Manager, Acquisition Group, Water Corporation

Keith CadeeKeith Cadee has 35 years of experience in Government-run water services and regulatory bodies. He currently works for the Water Corporation, a Western Australian Government corporation that manages the operation of metropolitan water sources, water treatment, water distribution, and the treatment, re-use and disposal of wastewater. In Mr Cadee’s current role he is responsible for water and wastewater treatment, drinking water quality management, water production and water recycling. He is also responsible for research and innovation at the Water Corporation.

Mr Cadee is an engineer and has a Masters of Engineering (Environmental) from the University of Florida. He is a member of the Water Services Association of Australia’s Water Quality and Health Committee, and is a Board Member (and Interim Chair) of Water Quality Research Australia Limited (from October 2007). He is a Member of the Institute of Engineers Australia, the Australian Water Association and a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Mr Graham Dooley - Independent Board Member
Chairman, Osmoflo

Graham Dooley is one of the most experienced Chairman-level professionals in the Australian water industry, having spent 40 years delivering capital and operating water solutions. He has been a Chairman, MD and Director of over 40 companies in the past 25 years, understanding the challenges and issues faced by both the public and private sectors.

Currently the Chairman of Osmoflo, Australia’s largest desalination supplier, Mr Dooley is also Chairman of Blue Sky Water Partners, which manages investments in water rights and infrastructure, waterAUSTRALIA, the peak export business body for the Australian water industry, and the Salisbury Water Management Board. He is also a director of peak Australian water industry body the Australian Water Association and a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers, Australia and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Dooley is a former member of the National Water Commission’s Urban Water Advisory Group and former Board Member of Infrastructure Partnerships Australia. For 15 years until 2007 he was Managing Director of United Utilities Australia, and prior to 1991, Mr Dooley worked for Sydney Water for nearly 20 years where he filled several senior management roles.


Mr Adam Lovell – Independent Board Member
Executive Director, Water Services Association of Australia

Adam Lovell is the Executive Director of the Water Services Association of Australia. He was previously Manager Science and Sustainability and in that role he led and facilitated the development of national water utility strategy, policy positions and research direction in areas including climate change adaptation and mitigation, water quality and public health, energy management, and sustainability. Prior to this Mr Lovell was a senior program manager with the Science and Technology team at Sydney Water and through that role was a member and Deputy Chairman of the CRC Water Quality and Treatment Board, and a member of the inaugural Water Quality Research Australia Board.

Mr Lovell is a member of the NHMRC Water Quality Advisory Committee and the Australian Drinking Water Guidelines Reference Group (ADWGRG). He is also a member of the reference group for the NWC Urban Water Quality Reform initiative. Through his role at WSAA, he chairs numerous steering committees for national research projects. Mr Lovell is also the Drying Climates Leader for the IWA Climate Change Specialist Group and a member of the IWA Specialist Group on Water Recycling.

@discoverdesal on Twitter:

Climate Resilient Water Sources (CREWS) web portal now at Provides info on over 350 desal and recycled water sources

About 4 days ago from NCEDA's Twitter via Twitter Web Client

Desalination News

Sign up for our Newsletter